German Slider

Wing in ground
Made in Germany

German Slider
Maritime solution

The german slider is a new type of ground effect vehicle based on Jörg's principle, which combines state-of-the-art technology, ecology, economy, and design in its forward-looking conception, as well as continuously developing these components scientifically and sustainably. At present, this is the most effective maritime vehicle, not only in terms of its speed capabilities, which can reach up to 7 times the speed of a conventional watercraft.

The slider travels at three different speed levels: displacement, gliding and floating or flair. Until it reaches flair mode, it drives like a conventional motorboat, then makes optimal use of the ground effect and hovers just above the water surface.

Maritime future thought ahead...

The Challenge

The challenge and goal of the German Slider GmbH is nothing less than to revolutionize outdated and deadlocked transport systems and replace them with a completely new, global and ultra-modern transport system. Thinking maritime future anew, the German Slider ensures a sustainable ecological and economic balance that is truly path-breaking.

The Goals

With the ground effect vehicles we have developed, we can reduce the enormous consumption of fossil fuels and the resulting high CO2 emissions to a minimum while at the same time multiplying driving and cruising speeds. In this way we increase the safety standard as well as the comfort while driving.

Made in Germany

Individual design

Sustainable technology

Expert advice

Ground effect

The Wing-In-Ground-Effect (WIG), is a physical phenomenon discovered by U.S. Air Force pilots during World War II and used by some bird species for thousands of years. The ground effect refers to the lift created by the dynamic pressure between the surface of the water and the wings, which allows the bird to rise into the air and glide close above the surface of the water with little energy expenditure.

In the history of the development of ground effect vehicles, the German researcher and engineer Günther W. Jörg has a special position. Jörg, who had already played a major role in the development of the vertical takeoff, has set completely new standards in the field of ground effect vehicles with the invention of the Tandem Airfoil Flairboat (TAF). Its special design results in a self-stabilizing effect.

The German Slider has been successfully developed over 20 years and is the first vehicle of its kind as well as the only self-stabilising WIG-Effect vehicle in the world.

The first vehicles successfully completed 100.000km test drives

Design Study

Ecology

The german slider uses a new type of technology that has significant ecological and economic advantages. Since the vehicle moves above the water, no marine life or plants are affected.

Furthermore, its soundless movement protects noise-sensitive marine in-habitants. Its non-existent draught prevents injuries to animals such as whales and dolphins, which frequent occurrences with other types of marine vessels. Moreover, the german slider produces no wave impact, thus protecting animals’ breeding grounds on river banks.

Economics

The german slider not only saves 80-90% of the fuel, but also achieves up to 7 times the speed compared to conventional maritime vehicles. The speed that can be achieved depends on the size of the vehicle: starting at 140 km/h for our 14 meter model and rising up to 500 km/h for our large vehicles.

The vehicles will also be available with an electric drive and a hydrogen engine for the first time, making the german slider even more economically efficient and completely emission-free.

Safety and comfort

The steering with a rudder and the resulting maneuverability enable immediate changes of direction, making the Slider far superior to sluggish boats and ships. Obstacles under water, shoals, rocks or the like pose no problem whatsoever during the journey. The shallow draught – 1% of the vehicle length – allows the Slider to approach all harbours without any problems which is an enormous advantage.

Thanks to the reduced braking distance, the Slider is predestined for autonomous driving. In the event of danger of any kind, the vehicle can reach a harbour or shore in the shortest possible time, which means enormous safety, especially for ferries. The design of the vehicle means that passengers can be evacuated within a few minutes in an emergency, with the large wings providing additional safety and the passengers not having to flee into the water. The four wings act as floats, making it almost impossible for the Slider to sink. This must also be considered an enormous benefit in regard to insurances.

The relaxed ride comfort in the most modern interior design while gently floating over the waves represents a revolution in maritime travel and cannot be compared with that of conventional boats and ships. Travelling with the Slider is characterized by virtually silent travel, whereby even the vehicle's own movement is barely noticeable, which practically rules out seasickness. By maximizing speed many times over, journey and travel times are significantly reduced, making maritime transport much more attractive and efficient overall.

Our strong partners

For any questions contact us:

German Slider

Bodeneffektfahrzeuge
Made in Germany

Der German Slider
Maritime Lösung

Der German Slider ist ein neuartiges Bodeneffektfahrzeug nach Jörgs Prinzip, das modernste Technik, Ökologie, Ökonomie und Design in seiner zukunftsweisenden Konzeption vereint und diese Komponenten wissenschaftlich und nachhaltig weiterentwickelt. Es ist das derzeit effektivste maritime Fahrzeug, nicht nur in Bezug auf seine Geschwindigkeit, die bis zum 7-fachen eines konventionellen Wasserfahrzeugs erreichen kann.

Der Slider fährt in drei verschiedenen Geschwindigkeitsstufen: Verdrängung, Gleiten und Schweben oder Flair. Bis zum Erreichen des Flair-Modus fährt er wie ein herkömmliches Motorboot, nutzt dann den Bodeneffekt optimal aus und bewegt sich schwebend knapp über der Wasseroberfläche.

Maritime Zukunft weitergedacht….

Herausvorderung

Herausforderung und Ziel des Projekts german slider ist kein geringeres als die veralteten und festgefahrenen Verkehrssyteme zu revolutionieren und diese durch ein völlig neues, globales und höchstmodernes Verkehrssystem zu ersetzen, um für ein nachhaltig ökologisches und ökonomisches Gleichgewicht zu sorgen, das zukunftsweisend ist.

Ziel

Mit den von uns entwickelten Bodeneffektfahrzeugen können wir den enormen Verbrauch fossiler Brennstoffe und den dadurch verursachten hohen CO2-Ausstoß auf ein Minimum reduzieren bei gleichzeitiger Vervielfachung der Fahr- und Reisegeschwindigkeit.  Somit erhöhen wir  den Sicherheitsstandard als auch den Komfort während der Fahrt.

Made in Germany

Individuelles Design

Nachhaltige Technologie

Expertenberatung

Bodeneffekt

Der Wing-In-Ground-Effekt (WIG) ist ein physikalisches Phänomen, das von Piloten der US-Luftwaffe während des Zweiten Weltkriegs entdeckt und von einigen Vogelarten seit Jahrtausenden genutzt wird. Der Bodeneffekt bezieht sich auf den Auftrieb, der durch den dynamischen Druck zwischen der Wasseroberfläche und den Flügeln entsteht und der es dem Vogel ermöglicht, sich in die Luft zu erheben und mit geringem Energieaufwand dicht über der Wasseroberfläche zu gleiten.

In der Geschichte der Entwicklung von Bodeneffektfahrzeugen nimmt der deutsche Forscher und Ingenieur Günther W. Jörg eine besondere Stellung ein. Jörg, der bereits an der Entwicklung des Senkrechtstarters maßgeblich beteiligt war, hat mit der Erfindung des Tandem-Airfoil-Flairboats (TAF) völlig neue Maßstäbe auf dem Gebiet der Bodeneffektfahrzeuge gesetzt. Seine spezielle Konstruktion führt zu einem selbststabilisierenden Effekt.

Der German Slider wurde über 20 Jahre erfolgreich entwickelt und ist das erste Fahrzeug seiner Art sowie das einzige selbststabilisierende WIG-Effekt-Fahrzeug der Welt.

Die Bodeneffektfahrzeuge flogen eine Teststrecke von ca. 100.000km

Design Study

Ökologie

Der Slider nutzt eine Technologie, die erhebliche ökologische und wirtschaftliche Vorteile hat. Da sich das Fahrzeug oberhalb des Wassers bewegt, werden keine Meereslebewesen oder Pflanzen beeinträchtigt.

Außerdem schützt sein Antrieb lärmempfindliche Meeresbewohner. Sein nicht vorhandener Tiefgang verhindert Verletzungen von Tieren wie Walen und Delfinen, die bei anderen Arten von Wasserfahrzeugen vorkommen. Außerdem erzeugt der Slider keinen Wellenschlag und schützt so die Brutstätten der Tiere an den Flussufern.

Ökonomie

Der Slider spart nicht nur 80-90% des Kraftstoffs, sondern erreicht auch eine bis zu 7-fache Geschwindigkeit im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Seefahrzeugen. Die erreichbare Geschwindigkeit hängt von der Größe des Fahrzeugs ab: Sie beginnt bei 140 km/h für unser 14-Meter-Modell und steigt bis zu 500 km/h für unsere Großfahrzeuge.

Die Fahrzeuge werden erstmals ab 2024/25 auch mit einem Elektroantrieb und einem Brennstoffzellen-Antrieb erhältlich sein, was den German Slider noch wirtschaftlicher und völlig emissionsfrei macht.

Sicherheit und Komfort

Durch die Steuerung mit einem Seitenleitwerk und die daraus resultiernde Manövrierbarkeit sind somit sofortige Richtungswechsel möglich, wodurch der slider den trägen Booten und Schiffen weit überlegen ist. Hindernisse unter Wasser, Untiefen, Felsen oder ähnliches stellen während der Fahrt keinerlei Problem da und der geringe Tiefgang – 1% der Fahrzeuglänge – lässt den slider alle Häfen problemlos anfahren.

Durch den verkürzten Bremsweg ist der slider geradezu prädestiniert für autonomes Fahren. Bei Gefahren jeglicher Art kann das Fahrzeug innerhalb kürzester Zeit einen Hafen oder ein Ufer erreichen, was besonders für Fähren eine enorme Sicherheit darstellt. Durch die Bauart des Fahrzeugs ist im Notfall eine Evakuierung der Passagiere innerhalb von wenigen Minuten möglich, wobei die großen Tragflächen eine zusätzliche Sicherheit bieten und die Passagiere nicht ins Wasser flüchten müssen. Hierbei dienen die vier Flügel als Schwimmer, die das Sinken des sliders fast unmöglich machen.

Der entspannte Fahrkomfort in modernstem Interieurdesign beim sanften Schweben über den Wellen stellt eine Revolution im maritimen Reisen dar und ist mit dem herkömmlicher Boots- und Schiffstypen nicht vergleichbar. Die Fahrt mit dem slider zeichnet sich durch nahezu geräuschloses Reisen aus, wobei selbst die Eigenbewegung des Fahrzeugs kaum spürbar ist, was Seekrankheit praktisch ausschließt. Durch die Maximierung der Geschwindigkeit um ein Vielfaches verkürzen sich Fahrt- und Reisezeiten erheblich und machen so die maritime Fortbewegung insgesamt deutlich attraktiver und effizienter.

Unsere starken Partner

Kontaktieren Sie uns: